Slade Watkins

Writing takes (a lot of) time

I write almost every day. I take breaks here and there but I mostly get home, open up a new document, and start typing. Some days I go for hours, some only a few minutes, but each day I try my best to include as many words as I deem necessary. It’s a writing exercise for me, the ability to be creative without it feeling like work. Or in the cases where it actually is work, then it’s to make it feel not boring.

Writing is an escape for me. I get to make up my own universes to escape to and worlds to explore. Time can move as slow or as fast as I want it to. It’s a level of control I almost wish I had over my own life. At least in some ways. I will always have a passion for writing, without a doubt. Scripts, books, essays. You name the writing, I’ll probably love it.

Some day, I’d like to write and publish a novel. Trust me: I’ve been planning two different novels for years. I have pages of notes and even drafts of a thing or two here and there. I’m sure I’ll tackle that eventually. For now, I’ll stick to writing in bursts. I don’t know how ready I am to write something that long. I’ll think about that a bit, I’ll certainly have some time on my hands to do it.

When I decided to pull the curtain back on fifteen little steps, I certainly wasn’t expecting to feel so nervous and self-conscious over my own writing. That’s why I decided to delay releasing it a bit. I knew I wasn’t ready, so I didn’t go forward with it just yet.

I’ve been hard at work tweaking and perfecting this new mini-collection of writing. I know I’ve been teasing this for a while and it has been a long time coming. I’ve been at this for 4 years now, and I even recently released details about it. I truly believe I’m getting closer to release every day. It’s just not ready yet.

I’m sorry to do this, but I’ll need some more time to keep tweaking, perfecting, and preparing. Just know that it’s on the way and it’ll come later when the time is just right. I promise.

#writing