Slade Watkins

I don't know where to start

I always come up with interesting ideas. I write them all down, but you want to know something? I’ve never acted upon, expanded, or even thought about basically any of them, except one. Why? It’s simple: I lack the resources to do so. I have accepted this to be okay over the years, but I think that my new goal is to expand my resources and start making them a reality. One small, teeny-tiny problem: I have no idea where to start, and I have to break down that barrier first.

The problem with having such a long laundry list of ideas is that I become very overwhelmed with even just 5 things. To deal with that, I came up with a system to help me handle it. First, I break the puzzle into a bunch of small pieces. I take one, find a way to solve it, and once that piece is solved, I put it back and move on. I repeat that process with the next one. And the next one. And so on.

This is a part of the way my brain is wired… I like to call it my “wild thought process.” Yes, it frustrates me. But no, I don’t see it as a burden. I mainly see it as a gift.

You see, there was a moment in time where I did see it as a burden. In fact I did up until very recently. I never accepted that I thought, learned, and processed things differently than others. I certainly never even stopped to think of how much it truly helped me. All I cared about was that it meant I couldn’t fit in, blend in, whatever you call it. I felt like I was that one kid who was easy to point out and identify.

Truth be told, I was not that kid. I am still not that kid. We aren’t born to fit in, we’re born to be our own people. To stand out because we’re who we are. To be noticed because of our accomplishments, abilities, talents, and whatever else we’re able to offer.

I love writing a lot but I love tech and video games more. I explore both in depth through YouTube videos, Wikipedia articles, Reddit threads, knowledge base articles... you name it, I’ll probably read it (or have read it). Mix tech and video games together, in one article, and you’ll lose me for a few days because I’ll have been sucked in. I’ll start looking up other articles, perhaps other people’s research and documents on the topics.

I’ll have found another related topic and started researching that. I’ll have written a ton on the topic. Given a speech about it. Asked Reddit about it. Wrote a Thread about it. Maybe even a blog post, too, if I’m feeling up to it. I’ll have researched and researched for hours on end, and suddenly, made a whole week pass by. Will you be interested in it? Probably not, that’s to be expected. Everyone’s into different things.

But will it have been worth it for me? A million times, yes.

That’s what’s more important: the motivation for learning about something you’re passionate about that others may not. And I think that’s a great place for me to start!

#tech #video games #writing