Slade Watkins

Visible, One Month Later: Here's Why I'm Leaving

Around a month ago, AT&T shut my phone off suddenly. I called and was told it was due to a “mismatched IMEI number.” I thought this was strange since I hadn’t switched phones or anything, and my new iPhone 11 was activated a month prior to this happening. At the time, I suspected this to be the fault of my iPhone. So when I called customer support, I had them reprovision the SIM on my Google Pixel.

I didn’t mind my Pixel, I actually prefer Android for most things. I even switched to Android as my main platform for six and a half months due to the pandemic and wanting something to be different.

If I’m being honest, I’ve only elected to stick with Apple’s side of the camp for all these years because of iMessage, FaceTime, and device-to-device continuity (I have an Apple Watch, iPad and three Macs). If there were actual competitors available on Android at a system-level (besides RCS and Google Duo), you bet I’d jump ship permanently, right now.

A few days passed and it happened again, they disabled my service randomly (though it eventually came back on its own). I had enough and decided to port myself out to Visible. Let me tell you, porting out was the best part of the experience. I elected to use an eSIM, which seemed to be the fastest escape route. Gave them the account number, PIN, and all those fun details, within the hour I was set up. Only went without cell service for about 30 minutes. Quick and painless.

My past month with Visible has been a mixed bag. Originally, I had made a Thread discussing my feedback for Visible nearly one month in. I stated that, due to most of my issues being related to an eSIM, I’d be switching to a physical SIM. Obviously plans have changed. Now, I fully believe that Visible has yet to truly mature as a digital-only cell carrier. I agree it’s the future, yes, but I don’t know if we’re there quite yet.

So what’s so bad anyways? Well, I’ll tell you. Let’s split everything into three different categories: the good, the meh, the bad. Then I’ll explain why I’m leaving for US Mobile, as those of you who follow my Twitter and/or Reddit may already know.

The Good

The Meh

The Bad

I truly hoped I’d completely fall in love with Visible. Their selling points were true, sure… but the issues with eSIM, Wi-Fi Calling, calls breaking between my dad and I, and the lack of supported Android phones certainly broke that ability for me.

Maybe someday in a few years, when Visible improves their systems, I’ll consider switching back. For now, I’m leaving (as I said earlier) for US Mobile, where I’ll be testing their Unlimited All plan on their Super LTE (Verizon) network. And I’m excited this time, since I punched in all my IMEI numbers for my phones and they are actually compatible. And I get a physical SIM!

Thank goodness.

#Android #iOS #phones